The Dawn of Paleo

Mostly Recipes with a Few Insights about Paleo Life

Grass-Fed Beef Liver and Onions

on February 23, 2012

  Yep, that’s liver!  I never thought I’d be excited to make liver and onions… and I’ve never even tasted it!  How sad!  But now that’s in the past!  I made it tonight!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb grass-fed beef liver
  • 2 med red onions, thinly sliced
  • 2 Tbsp EVOO
  • salt
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • sage

Blot liver dry.  Heat a cast iron skillet and add 1 Tbsp EVOO.  Add onions and turn down heat. Add some salt and cook til they are slightly caramelized and transfer to a platter.  Wipe out pan, increase the heat to high and add remaining 1 Tbsp of oil.  Sear liver on both sides for about 3 minutes per side, or until cooked rare in the center.  Add to plate of onions.  After the liver is cooked and removed from pan, turn off heat and add red wine to pan and deglaze pan while scraping browned bits from the bottom.  Reduce wine by half (3-4 minutes).  Pour the red wine glaze over the liver and onions, sprinkle a bit of sage if desired.  Enjoy!

*When I cooked this, it looked and smelled delicious!  and we ate a little, but I think it was a texture thing… we just couldn’t do it!  We tossed almost the whole thing out!  YUK! Total fail!! Oh well, at least I tried, right?  I know that liver is crazy good for you, so with the rest of the grass-fed liver that I have, i think I will try something else… maybe I will grind it in with some ground beef??  Any other ideas are more than welcome, too…..

One response to “Grass-Fed Beef Liver and Onions

  1. Judy H Freeman says:

    Too bad I don’t live close. I love liver and onions. I could have taken it off your hands! Love your blog

Leave a Reply

