The Dawn of Paleo

Mostly Recipes with a Few Insights about Paleo Life

Almost Paleo Carrot Cake

on March 12, 2012

My daughter’s 5th birthday is coming up and I let her pick a cake from one of my favorite cookbooks.  She picked the carrot cake.  So I made a practice cake.  I didn’t have two 9-inch cake pans, so I used smaller (7 inch) pyrex dishes.  So I had to adjust my cook time/temp. since the cakes are thicker.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb carrots, peeled and shredded
  • 1 cup maple syrup
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour, sifted
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 10 eggs (yes,10!)
  • 12 dates, pitted
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup melted coconut oil
  • cream cheese frosting (16oz cream cheese,1/2c maple syrup,1 Tbsp vanilla, 2 Tbsp grated ginger)
  • chopped walnuts

Put shredded carrots in zip bag with maple syrup and let soak in fridge for 1 hour.  Mix dry ingredients in small bowl.  Put dates in small bowl with 3 Tbsp water and microwave for 30 sec.  Mash up with fork.  Add 1 Tbsp water and microwave 30 more sec. Mash again with fork.  Add 1 Tbsp maple syrup and stir until creamy.  Put date mush, eggs, vanilla, oil in mixer and blend.  Add dry ingredients and blend.  Drain carrots in colander then stir into cake mix.  Divide into 2 greased cake pans (or lined with parchment paper).  Cook at 325 for 30 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool then frost.  For frosting, blend all ingredients in mixer and spread on cooled cake.  Garnish with walnuts! Enjoy!!

The cake was a huge success!!  We all had seconds. My son even asked for thirds!  You would never know that this cake was grain-free!  I will definitely make this one again!  YUM!


4 responses to “Almost Paleo Carrot Cake

  1. Kristin says:

    This cake was absolutely *delicious*, very moist and tasty! Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. paleodawn says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you liked it!! 🙂

  3. esisk says:

    Dawn, Can almond flour be substituted for coconut flour in this recipe? What is the difference?
    Thanks. E.S.

    • paleodawn says:

      No, I don’t think that you can substitute almond flour for coconut flour. Almond flour cooks more dense and you have to use much more of it. Coconut flour cooks up lighter and you only use a little, I think it expands and thats why you have to use so many eggs, i’m guessing? So you would probably have to use alot more almond flour and I don’t know if it would rise as good as the coconut flour?? Does that help?

Leave a comment