The Dawn of Paleo

Mostly Recipes with a Few Insights about Paleo Life

Sweet Potato Buns

on October 12, 2012

OK, so these are really more like pancakes… but they work perfectly for holding a hamburger! Oh, they taste great too!!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups shredded sweet potato
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tsp coconut flour
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4- 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil

Beat the eggs with the coconut  flour, sea salt, and rosemary in a bowl.  Add in sweet potatoes and mix well.  Spoon “buns” into hot coconut oil and cook on each side around 3 minutes (until lightly brown and sticks together well).  Enjoy!  These are also good stored in fridge and reheated in toaster oven!  I ate mine as bread with some chili, yum!

12 responses to “Sweet Potato Buns

  1. Very cool! I guess I wont have to eat my burgers with a fork all the time now

    • paleodawn says:

      Yes, I must admit I was glad to finally pick up my burger instead of use a fork! It’s been almost 1 year since I’ve done that, and I’m pretty sure it taste better when you can pick it up! 😉 enjoy yours!

  2. […] burgers with sweet potato cakes and paleo mayo with lemon juice and fish oil, balsamic roasted brussel […]

  3. susandtmay261961 says:

    this looks delicious, but what could be use for an egg substitute?

    • paleodawn says:

      I’ve never tried anything other than eggs. I have read that you can use : 1 ½ tablespoon water, 1 ½ tablespoon oil, and 1 teaspoon baking powder or 1Tbsp arrowroot powder = 1 egg, but I have never tried any of those. basically the egg is the binder for the sweet potatoes. good luck, and if you find something that works, I’d love to hear about it!

  4. Anna says:

    Cook ’em in an egg ring!

  5. Lyn says:

    I’m struggling with getting a soft consistency. Its coming out still textured and crunchy. Am I cooking too high?

    • paleodawn says:

      Mine usually turn out pretty textured and a little crunchy around the edges (which i like), similar to pancakes. I would imagine if you added more egg, they might be fluffier (smoother) perhaps. Also the finer you can shred your potatoes might help with the texture, too. And I would try cooking at a slightly lower temp so they don’t crisp up too fast. Good luck, I hope they turn out and I’d love to hear what you changed and how it came out! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  6. heartjourney says:

    Made these today and they were just what I needed! THANK YOU! I’ve been missing picking up my burger and these worked great and tasted just right. Hubby even liked them! I’ll be making these again and again.

  7. […] Today I have been working on my sweet potato bun recipe. I made these a lot last summer when we had BBQs.  My husband basically lives on hamburgers in the summer so I had to figure out an easy way of eating them (lettuce buns just don’t seem to be the same…). I’ve found many recipes for sweet potato “pancakes” and this one in particular from Dawn of Paleo that I used for a while: https://dawnofpaleo.wordpress.com/2012/10/12/sweet-potato-buns/ […]

Leave a Reply

