The Dawn of Paleo

Mostly Recipes with a Few Insights about Paleo Life

Paleo Pressure Cooker Beef Stew

on January 4, 2013

IMG_7754 I just bought myself a pressure cooker!  I’ve never owned one before, but I think it will be a great addition to my paleo kitchen.  We’ve been out of town for a while and today I decided I would try out my new pressure cooker with whatever I could find in my kitchen.  So, I just made this recipe up as i went along, so the amounts are estimates of what I used.

Ingredients:

  • ~2lb grass-fed chuck roast (still frozen)
  • 1 onion, coarsely chopped
  • 1-2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 can tomato paste
  • 1 cup beef broth
  • 1/2-1 tsp sea salt
  • ~1 tsp thyme
  • 1 bag frozen green beans
  • 1 bag frozen broccoli,cauliflower, and carrots
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped into large chunks

Saute onions, celery, and garlic in 2-3 Tbsp coconut oil, until soft.  Add the roast and all the rest of the ingredients finishing with the sweet potatoes on top.  Close pressure cooker and cook  for 50-55 minutes.  Be aware that the potaoes fall apart and thicken the stew, but the flavor is wonderful! and quite satisfying!IMG_7750IMG_7752IMG_7751

IMG_7753

Leave a Reply

