The Dawn of Paleo

Mostly Recipes with a Few Insights about Paleo Life

Paleo Chili

on February 14, 2013

IMG_7824 IMG_7825

This is the best chili I’ve ever made, I think!  I made some Paleo tortilla chips to go with it… i’ll post that recipe soon! Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2lbs  grass-fed ground beef
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 1 large green bell pepper, chopped
  • 3-5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 – 28oz can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 – 14oz can tomato sauce
  • 1/2 cup coffee
  • 1 cup chicken or beef broth
  • 3T chili powder
  • 2T cumin
  • 1T oregano
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne (optional)
  • 1 tsp sea salt + sprinkle
  • 1 tsp pepper + sprinkle
  • 2 T coconut oil

Instructions: Sauté onions and bell peppers in coconut oil over med-high heat in a large soup pot. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. About 5 minutes.  Add beef and garlic and cook until brown. About 7  minutes.  Add tomatoes, tomato sauce, coffee, broth and spices. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer 1-2 hours.  Makes 6 large servings.

19 responses to “Paleo Chili

  1. kerri says:

    Is this brewed coffee or coffee grounds?

  2. Keya says:

    Oh golly gosh! What a recipe. Thanks so much for sharing. The coffee just adds an amazing smokey taste. I added some fresh chilies, baby marrow and cut up some spicy italian sausage into it. Wowzers!

  3. Tracy says:

    Making this right now. Smells amazing. I only had a can of fire roasted tomatoes, and adobo chili powder. Probably going to be good and spicy! Also, my husband had the idea of adding in some pistachios to mimic beans. We shall see…might end up picking those out as we eat. Ha!

  4. Steve E says:

    For some reason, I have found the addition of coffee and unsweetened cocoa to give chili an insane depth of flavor. Not sure why, but it works.

  5. Tanya says:

    Can this be frozen?

  6. Karen says:

    This is by far the best chili I’ve had, both paleo and non-paleo…tastes best the next day once everything settles and the flavors are stronger! Thanks for the recipe!

  7. Maritess says:

    I used this recipe for tonight’s dinner but added carrots and celery and it came out super delicious. Even my husband made squash noodles and made it as a spaghetti chili type of dinner and that was also a good mix! Thanks for the recipe!

  8. […] I haven’t cooked dinner in a week, so I think I’m going to make a big ole batch of this chili on Sunday and see how long I can stretch it for. (I need a […]

  9. […] Paleo Chili | The Dawn of Paleo – Feb 14, 2013 · This is the best chili I’ve ever made, I think! I made some Paleo tortilla chips to go with it… i’ll post that recipe soon! Enjoy! Ingredients:… […]

  10. […] Paleo Chili | The Dawn of Paleo – Feb 14, 2013 · This is the best chili I’ve ever made, I think! I made some Paleo tortilla chips to go with it… i’ll post that recipe soon! Enjoy! Ingredients:… […]

  11. […] Paleo Chili | The Dawn of Paleo – Feb 14, 2013 · This is the best chili I’ve ever made, I think! I made some Paleo tortilla chips to go with it… i’ll post that recipe soon! Enjoy! Ingredients: 2lbs …… […]

  12. […] Crock-pot chili (this is paleo, but so, so good—you won’t miss the […]

  13. Lola says:

    Made this for dinner tonight, reduced the burger a bit and added chorizo. Omitted the the pumpkin and added a can of diced green chilis. Was super tasty. The whole family enjoyed. Thanks for the recipe.

  14. Emily says:

    This was the best chili I think I’ve ever had. I was a little hesitant about the pumpkin pie spice, but it all came together for one incredible meal! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

